Do You Speak Your Fiancé’s Language?

You may be thinking this is a silly question, but I’m not talking about languages like English, French or Spanish.   I’m referring to Love Languages.   You heard me right!   There is five Love Languages according to Dr. Gary Chapman the author of The 5 Love Languages:   The Secret to Love That Lasts.     Most respond favorably to all 5 Love Languages but according to Gary Chapman we all have 2 that are dominant and if neglected will result in an empty love tank.  

Knowing your partner’s Love Language as well as him knowing yours may be the key to happiness and longevity in your marriage.  There are a lot of desirable benefits that happily married people have; better physical and mental health, they tend to make and save more money and are more likely to live longer.   All sounds good to me!

The 5 Love Languages are Words of Affirmation, Acts of Service, Receiving Gifts, Physical Touch and Quality Time.   You may recognize yours and his just by reading them, but you can take the test here and confirm.   This is a fun and connective thing to do together.   Are you thinking this is not your man’s idea of “fun”?    I guarantee if you explain the reason  you want to find out his Love Language is because it’s important to you to make him feel all your love , he’ll be on board!   I know you love your partner and communicating in the language he speaks will ensure his Love Tank will always be filled!   With a filled Love Tank he will have the energy and desire to fill yours.   It really is contagious!

You may be doing amazing things for your partner like his laundry, cooking delicious meals, and surprising him with little gifts that let him know you are thinking of him when you’re out and about.   These are all actions that show your love but what if his Love Languages are Quality Time and Words of Affirmation?   This is powerful information!   Quality Time means he needs your undivided attention at times.   That means putting aside Pinterest, Facebook and the Brides magazine and having a conversation when you are listening, not to be confused with hearing, each other.   Even small doses of this undivided attention with someone who’s primary Love Language is Quality Time will go a really long way!

The other top Love Language in this scenario is Words of Affirmation.   By making it a point to tell him how much you appreciate, love and respect him and acknowledging things he does will get him to FULL on the Love Tank gauge!   Now sprinkle in the other actions that may be natural expressions of your love and you have a very happy fiancé!

The idea is that you both fill each other up with love and happiness and reap all the positive benefits associated with happy & healthy relationships.   You will be energized and motivated to be the best you in every area of your life.   I hope this information inspires you to look deeper into learning about the Love Languages and hungry for relationship tips that will improve the quality of all your relationships, especially the one with the Love of your life!   Cheers to living life Happily & Healthily Ever After!


Sheila is a health coach and creator of 12 WEEKS TO A FIT BRIDE.    She works with BRIDES in the area’s of fitness, nutrition & lifestyle to create a life of “happily & healthily ever after.”

User Reviews


Your email address will not be published

five + twelve =

Written by Sheila Piehler
Medical Writer & Editor

Sheila is a health coach and creator of 12 WEEKS TO A FIT BRIDE.    She works with BRIDES in the area’s of fitness, nutrition & lifestyle to create a life of “happily & healthily ever after.”

View all post by Sheila Piehler